Sunday, December 5, 2021

How to get the most out of your iPhone

Must read

Adjust settings and spring for apps with bigger storage

iPhone 6s: Open Settings, scroll down to Storage and tap the Storage Storage Plans button. Tap Manage Storage and tap Get More Storage.

iPhone 6s Plus: Open Settings, scroll down to Storage and tap the Storage Storage Plans button. Tap Manage Storage and tap Get More Storage.

iPhone 8: Open Settings, scroll down to Storage and tap the Storage Storage Plans button. Tap Manage Storage and tap Get More Storage.

iPhone 8 Plus: Open Settings, scroll down to Storage and tap the Storage Storage Plans button. Tap Manage Storage and tap Get More Storage.

iPhone X: Open Settings, scroll down to Storage and tap the Storage Storage Plans button. Tap Manage Storage and tap Get More Storage.

iPhone XS: Open Settings, scroll down to Storage and tap the Storage Storage Plans button. Tap Manage Storage and tap Get More Storage.

iPhone XS Max: Open Settings, scroll down to Storage and tap the Storage Storage Plans button. Tap Manage Storage and tap Get More Storage.

Once you’ve added your iPhone’s storage, the only thing left to do is optimise your use of it. App and media usage can be significantly more efficient, so if you’re like many smartphone users you’ll want to employ these tips.

Restricted access

If your iPhone manages to cram hundreds or thousands of your favourite apps into your device’s storage, then you’ll want to try and take control of what’s uploaded to your storage space.

Check with Apple Support as the easiest way to do this is to open the Settings app, then tap General, then Storage & iCloud Usage. In the Storage & iCloud Usage section, make sure that Apps & Utilities, Photos & Video, Music, Games, Messages, Calendar, Videos, Messages Contacts, Guides, Mail, iCloud Storage, Applications, Safari, Photos & Photos, and Edge apps are all on the left hand side. To easily toggle any of them off or on, tap the Settings icon in the top right hand corner and then tap on the Edit button in the top right hand corner.

Once you have updated the third-party app or installed an app update that you don’t particularly like, toggle the app off for the full battery saving effect. As long as it’s not something you don’t actually use the App for – such as an App Store shortcut that appears in the Notification Centre every time it’s opened – then a quick toggle should allow you to download or delete an app without needing to restart your iPhone.

A bigger gigabyte

All your iPhone photos are blissfully free from iPhone waste, but in the run up to next year’s iPhone upgrades you might decide to cut out your apps for the other common apps or books/games. In the Setting Apps section in the iCloud Usage tab you can turn off the auto-download option that allows apps to be downloaded to the iPhone’s storage at the point where you start using it.

If you want to avoid it entirely then check out the Storage and iCloud Usage toggle switches. If you turn off Auto-downloads for any specific app then you’ll notice the app tray icon has a small Netflix-like icon with three vertical lines. This will only feature if the iPhone has opted to download the app automatically. Turn on the app and you’ll notice that a cluster of three horizontal lines appears behind the Netflix icon.

At this point the game is now up to you. If you don’t like the third-party app, tap Clear Storage. There are two possibilities here. The first is that you never used the app. The second is that you did use the app, and didn’t like it so much that you wish you had just waited until you got to your storage space. Either way, auto-downloads should now be gone for good.

Scheduled backups

If you want to ensure that you’re not using up your iPhone’s storage before you need it, you can schedule a backup.

By default, your iPhone automatically creates a backup when you turn it on, so long as it is in the position where the phone is being used (not in sleep mode) and if your iPhone has a password lock. If you turn off any of these settings, the data will be deleted in sync with the backup, so don’t worry if you turn them off.

There are two different ways of doing this. The first method is one that will make your iPhone battery sing: It’s set up as a proper Automatic Backup and saves your data by default to Apple’s iCloud server. The other method will save the data on your iPhone when you’

More articles

Latest article